The Cathedral of St Michael and St Gudula (Cathédrale Saint-Michel et Sainte-Gudule) is a Gothic-style cathedral located in the heart of Brussels. It is one of the most important landmarks in the city and a popular tourist attraction.
The cathedral was built in the thirteenth century on the foundations of a Romanesque church that dated back to the eleventh century. Originally, it was called the Church of St Michael until the relics of St Gudula, a martyr who died in the eighth century, were brought to the church in 1047. From that point on, it was known as the Cathedral of St Michael and St Gudula.
The cathedral underwent restoration work between 1983 and 1989 to preserve its Gothic architecture, and it was given the status of cathedral in 1962.
The cathedral is built in a Gothic style and features a beautiful Baroque pulpit carved from wood in 1699, as well as original oak confessionals from the seventeenth century. The interior of the cathedral is relatively sober due to damage inflicted by French revolutionaries and iconoclastic Protestants. However, it still boasts enormous statues located on the temple’s columns and several stained glass windows dating back to 1540.
The Chapel of the Blessed Sacrament of the Miracle contains the cathedral’s “treasure,” which includes numerous liturgical and religious objects such as tunics, crosses, relics, chalices, sculptures, and altarpieces. The cathedral also houses an imposing organ designed by Grenzing with over 4,000 pipes and four keyboards.
The Cathedral of St Michael and St Gudula is a must-see attraction for those visiting Brussels. It is located close to the city center, making it easy to access, and is open from early morning until late in the evening, making it convenient to visit. Visitors should also take note of the iron-forged doors that protect the Chapel of the Blessed Sacrament of the Miracle, where the cathedral’s “treasure” is kept.
St Michael and St Gudula Cathedral is located in the very city center of Brussels, just 5 minutes walk from Central station. It is easy to walk from other popular attractions, including Grand Place.
Hours and Fees
Mondays to Fridays from 7am until 6pm.
Saturdays from 8am until 6pm (visits only allowed until 3.30pm).
Sundays from 8am until 6pm (visits only from 2pm).
Open every day between 8am until 6pm.
Open by appointment only.
The daily opening of the museum is subject to the presence of a person at the Treasury desk.
Archeological site: 1 €
Romanesque crypt: 3 €
Treasury: 2 €